Finding core ingredients that fit with your dietary restrictions can be tricky. Especially when looking for gluten-free or wheat-free, since flour is often a contaminant in otherwise okay food items, and is also used as a thickening agent. Soy sauce is one of those tricky ingredients, since wheat gluten is very often an ingredient. It is possible to find gluten-free soy sauce, for example Tamari, to use as a substitute, or you can easily make your own soy sauce substitute from ingredients that you have in your pantry.
Ready to make your own? This recipe is adapted from one I came across while browsing AllRecipes. To get started, you’ll need the following ingredients
- vegetable broth
- silan (date honey)
- red wine vinegar
- balsamic vinegar
- garlic powder
- ground ginger root
- black pepper
Add the ingredients to a pot and bring to a boil on high heat. Reduce heat and let it continue to boil for 10-15 minutes, until the sauce has been reduced and thickened (you’ll have about a half cup of liquid left).
Remove from the stove, let cool to room temperature, and transfer to a container that can be tightly sealed. Store it in the fridge, and use within a couple of weeks.
This is a suitable soy sauce substitute for Passover, but of course is also a great year-round choice if you need to avoid soy or are not able to find gluten-free soy sauce in your area.
Looking for recipe inspiration? Here are some of my favourites to get you started.
- ¼ cup vegetable broth
- ⅛ cup silan (date honey)
- ¼ cup red wine vinegar
- ¼ cup water
- 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
- 1 tbsp garlic powder
- ½ teaspoon ground ginger root
- ⅛ tsp pepper
- Add all ingredients to a small saucepan, and bring to a boil over high heat.
- Leave to boil, uncovered, for about 10 minutes, to let the liquid reduce to a thickened, sauce. You will end up with about ½ cup of liquid.
- Remove from the stove and let cool completely.
- Transfer to a container that can be tightly closed and store in the fridge.